There are
“South Pole”
466
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 12:00pm

South Pole station had their final all-hands meeting, at which they held their yearly raffle of flags that had been outside all winter.

Monday, October 11, 2021 - 2:30pm

Last week, the intrepid South Pole station winterovers got themselves together (all but two of them!) for an outdoor group photo. 

Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 10:00am

It was sunrise last week at the Pole, but the sky opposite the sunrise was a showstopper as well.

Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 11:30am

Although sunrise hasn’t “officially” arrived yet, the South Pole station held their celebratory sunrise meal last week.

Friday, September 17, 2021 - 10:30am

With increasing daylight, the large pile of snow that has accumulated over the winter in front of the ICL is all the more apparent.

Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 11:00am

It’s now bright enough to see your way around outside at the Pole, which is great…depending on your perspective.

Tuesday, September 7, 2021 - 1:30pm

Last week was a quiet one for IceCube, and the brightening sky was beautiful as it appeared behind the South Pole station.

Monday, August 30, 2021 - 1:00pm

Last week, some of the winterovers walked out beyond the storage berms out on the ice to take some photographs of the setting moon.

Monday, August 23, 2021 - 12:45pm

Last week, IceCube winterovers made not one but two trips out to the IceCube Lab.

Early sunrise behing the flags at the ceremonial South Pole.
Monday, August 16, 2021 - 3:15pm

It’s getting obviously lighter outside, but thanks to clear skies (and intrepid winterover-photographers), we are still being treated to some wonderful images of the stars and auroras over the South Pole landscape.

Pages