There are
“South Pole”
434
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 - 11:00am

The South Pole station has closed for the winter, as the last plane carrying passengers leaves the Pole. 

Monday, February 22, 2021 - 1:15pm

It’s still light outside, but winter at the South Pole is fast approaching, and departures last week

Arriving winter personnel walking away from plane parked on the skiway at South Pole.
Caption

well outnumbered the arrivals. 

Large fuel bladders parked on the ice at the South Pole.
Monday, February 15, 2021 - 12:30pm

It takes a lot of fuel to keep things operating all year long at the South Pole, and all that fuel must be transported to this remote locale. 

Person in red parka shoveling snow outside the doors of a shipping container.
Thursday, February 4, 2021 - 10:00am

If you want to take inventory of a shipping container’s contents, you have to get inside first, and that can mean shoveling snow first.

Monday, January 25, 2021 - 9:45am

It doesn’t snow much at the South Pole but there is lots of snow that accumulates there, and sometimes it needs to be moved. 

Thursday, January 21, 2021 - 9:30am

The first full week of the year was a busy one!  So much going on… The IceCube detector was well behaved, but there were still several maintenance items to take care of.  

Thursday, January 7, 2021 - 4:45pm

The South Pole has its traditions for ringing in the new year, which includes a ceremony at the geographic pole to set a new pole marker into place. 

Monday, January 4, 2021 - 3:15pm

The “Race Around the World” is a fun run around the South Pole that crosses through all the world’s time zones. 

Monday, December 28, 2020 - 3:00pm

The holiday season is often a busy time of year for many people, and things are no different at the South Pole.  

Monday, December 21, 2020 - 10:15am

It was a fairly busy week at the Pole. IceCube’s new winterovers made their first IceTop snow measurements, an outdoor task that requires daylight to perform.

Pages