There are
“South Pole”
402
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 - 11:30am

Word-of-the-day: yukimarimo.  New for some, while others may already be familiar with this uncommon word, which refers to tiny, lightweight snowball-tumbleweeds of the Antarctic. 

Thursday, July 2, 2020 - 11:30am

It was a green sky last week as the biggest aurora storm of the season swept over the South Pole.  No long camera exposure needed for this fantastic aurora scene.

Friday, June 26, 2020 - 10:00am

Everything that has a beginning and an end has a middle, too—and that goes for winter.  Last week at the South Pole they celebrated midwinter, the marking of the winter solstice.

Friday, June 19, 2020 - 8:45am

They got some great outdoor photos last week under bright moonlight—no headlamps needed to walk around outside.

Monday, June 15, 2020 - 10:00am

Submitted ideas for the next pole marker are on display.  The winterovers will vote on their favorite design for the 2021 marker.

Friday, June 5, 2020 - 11:15am

OK, so the weather’s cold (June average of -64° F),  but there was lots of “cool” stuff at the Pole last week for IceCube’s winterovers. 

Friday, May 29, 2020 - 10:00am

It’s cold at the South Pole, no matter how you slice and dice it.  And as winter settles in, temperatures go even lower. 

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 9:30am

Last week was a relatively quiet week at the Pole.  Well, quiet as far as the IceCube detector was concerned, but there were a variety of things going on as usual. 

Friday, May 15, 2020 - 12:00pm

The recent photos from the Pole reflect a peacefulness outside, with the impending darkness of winter still held off by a bright moon

Friday, May 8, 2020 - 10:30am

The skies are getting darker as the period of twilight comes to an end.  As dark as it is, IceCube’s winterovers find it surprising how colorful the sky can become.

Pages