Thursday, December 14 2017

3:00pm to 4:00pm

IceCube at Evansville Science Club

internal event • Evansville Elementary School

IceCube will be talking with the 5th grade science club at Evansville Elementary School. We will explore what a ghost particle is and how we built the strangest and largest detector in the South Pole! This event is an internal event for this science club.


Wednesday, February 21 2018

2:30pm to 3:30pm

IceCube presentation at Ruth Culver Library

outreach event • Ruth Culver Community Library 540 Water St., Prairie du Sac, WI 53578

IceCube will be presenting at the Ruth Culver Community Library in Prairie du Sac, WI for kids and their parents. Come learn about our experiement in the South Pole!

Must register ahead of time through the library at: www.pdslibrary.org


Thursday, March 15 2018

6:00pm to 7:15pm

IceCube at Goodman Center Science Night

outreach event • Goodman Community Center- 149 Waubesa St. Madison, WI

IceCube will have a station at the Goodman Community Center Science Night. We will be doing hands-on activites Thursday March 15th from 6:00-7:15pm.  Come join in on some science fun!


Past Events

Monday, December 04 2017

12:00pm to 1:00pm

Antarctica Day Webcast

outreach event • All around the world

Join the celebration of this unique part of our world. There are numerous events planned around the world and anyone can participate.

ARCUS will be celebrating Antarctica Day by hosting a LIVE, real-time event with PolarTREC teacher Lesley Anderson from the South Pole Station. This event will take place on Monday, December 4, 2017. The event starts at 9:00 AM Alaska Standard Time [10AM PST, 11AM MST, 12PM CST, 1PM EST]. Start time may change due to satellite availability.

This will be a special presentation celebrating Antarctica Day which happens on December 1. The presentation will focus on the history of the Antarctica Treaty and how it relates to science conducted at the South Pole, in particular with the IceCube project (https://www.polartrec.com/expeditions/icecube-and-the-askaryan-radio-array).

This event is considered an official Antarctica Day event. These events are FREE and it's easy to register here: https://www.polartrec.com/polar-connect/register 

Additional Antarctica Day activities as well as the virtual balloon launch can be found at Our Spaces website: http://www.ourspaces.org.uk/antarctica-day.html


Friday, December 01 2017

7:00pm to 9:00pm

IceCube Talk at SoundWaves

talk • Discovery Building

How do drugs bring us DOWN? What can we learn from a lab DOWN below the surface of the Earth? How do we move water around underground? How do we dig DOWN to the bottom of a problem to find a solution? Find out at SoundWaves. 

Melanie Matchett Wood, math | Justin Vandenbroucke, physics, IceCube 

Brian Baldo, psychiatry | Greg Harrington, civil & environmental engineering 

Daniel Grabois, music, SoundWaves curator | Tom Curry, music 

Discovery Building, UW–Madison campus. 

Admission is free. Cash bar opens at 7 p.m. 

Registration requested at: discovery.wisc.edu/SoundWaves 


Friday, December 01 2017

6:00pm to 8:00pm

IceCube station at Space Place Family Science Night!

outreach event • Space Place- 2300 S Park St. Madison, WI

IceCube will be at Space Place's Family Science Night on Friday December 1st from 6:00-8:00pm. This science night will have a lot of interactive stations including IceCube's hands-on activites such as a Cosmic Messenger bean bag toss! We will be there to teach children and adults about the strangest and biggest telescope in the world!

For more info about the Science Night go to: http://www.spaceplace.wisc.edu/