There are
“winterovers”
435
Monday, October 26, 2020 - 10:30am

Sunbathing at the South Pole?  Well, why not!  The sun is out and there’s a nice smooth snowbank for reclining on.

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - 10:15am

The IceCube Lab has accumulated quite a bit of snow over the winter.  And that snow, there and elsewhere, must be cleared away before planes bringing fresh crew arrive—plenty to do.

Monday, October 12, 2020 - 11:30am

Now that the sun is up 24/7 at the South Pole, it’s hard for the winterovers to even imagine the auroras they were enjoying in the dark sky just a month or so ago. Everything is now visible. 

Monday, October 5, 2020 - 11:00am

The sun is up but still low on the horizon, casting long shadows, as seen here peeking through the exhaust plumes from the power plant. 

Monday, September 28, 2020 - 10:30am

As the long winter comes to an end with the sunrise at the South Pole, the winterovers embark on spring cleaning around the station.  

Friday, September 18, 2020 - 10:00am

Last week was somewhat busy for the IceCube detector. Otherwise, the sun continues its slow rise, leaving things outside appearing blue and frosty.

Monday, September 14, 2020 - 12:15pm

What did we just say about the dawn sky at the South Pole?  That it can present quite a colorful display, as evidenced by this week’s outdoor photos.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020 - 10:30am

While a blue sky may seem boring to some, especially after the many displays of auroras throughout the winter, the long twilight actually provides plenty of dawn colors to enjoy while outdoors. 

Monday, August 31, 2020 - 11:00am

You never know which aurora images from the Pole will be the last of the season.  But if it’s this week’s images, then this year’s aurora season is clearly going out with a bang.  

Monday, August 24, 2020 - 10:00am

Look who’s at the South Pole.  Okay, we can’t see their faces in this image, but we trust that those are IceCube’s winterovers. 

Pages